Who will win Twenty20 World Cup 2020?

2 Mins read

T20 World Cup 2020 gets underway on October 18 if everything goes as per the schedule. All the sporting activities around the globe have been affected due to Covid-19 pandemic. T20 World Cup may have an effect too. 


Since end of March, almost all the cricket related activities have been cancelled or postponed. The cricket lovers will hope that the ICC event will go as planned. Let’s take a look at today match prediction for prime contenders to win T20 World Cup this year.


T20 World Cup 2007 champions India would look to emulate the performances of the inaugural World Cup in South Africa when it was called World T20. The side has not been able to win the covered trophy since the first and the only successful campaign in the year 2007. In Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, India have dream 11 fantasy cricket match-winners and certainly they would like to prove a point getting their hands on the WC trophy. India have a well-balanced squad with almost all the bases covered. 

Team India is headed in the right direction and preparing with great results. In the last 10 Twenty 20 Internationals, India have won eight and lost only one. The excellent winning percentage going into the tournament will boost their confidence.

IND XI (probable): Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Shami


Australia have not been a successful side in T20Is like it is in ODIs. However, the Aussies have been improving in the shortest format of the game. They have embraced a more aggressive approach and are already looking an improved side. Moreover, the Aussie would want use home advantage to the best and boost their chances of winning the T20 title for the first time. 

Going by their recent performances, they actually have a strong chance to lift the cup for the very first time. In the last 10 T20I outings, Australia have won eight, only lost one while one ended in a no-result.

AUS XI (probable): David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson


2010 World T20 and the current ODI champions England have never look stronger before. They look more stronger and ruthless side than Paul Collingwood-led England side that won their only T20I title. Ten years later, Eoin Morgan would look to become the most successful England captain with two ICC major titles in the bag. 

The preparations of England, however, have not been as overwhelming but they have been on a look out of talent and that reflects in the results. In the last ten T20 international outings, England have recorded wins in six and have lost three games.

ENG XI (probable): Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Chris Jordan, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood/Jonny Bairstow

West Indies

The most successful T20I side, with two ICC T20 World Cup trophies, West Indies will again be a major force. The defending champions boast power hitters in the order to tear apart any bowling attack and the appointment of seasoned T20 campaigner Kieron Pollard as captain can work to their advantage. The T20 champions Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle would look to bow out on a high.

The last 10 T20Is don’t really reflect the strength of the explosive West Indies side. They have won four and lost five in the last 10 games.

WI XI (probable): Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Keiron Pollard, Andre Russell, DJ Bravo, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Tomas, Alzarri Joseph

Subscribe to get latest updates

You will get every post notification on you email easily.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *